Saturday, September 30, 2023
HomeScholarshipsDoctorateUniversity Of Waikato Doctoral Scholarship at New Zealand for 2022/2023

University Of Waikato Doctoral Scholarship at New Zealand for 2022/2023

High-achieving applicants who wish to apply for admission to a doctoral qualification at the University of Waikato will receive about 75 University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarships each year to encourage excellence in postgraduate research.

About the University

Public research university The University of Waikato was founded in 1964 and is located in Hamilton, New Zealand. In Tauranga, there is an additional campus. The university makes a significant, research-driven contribution to the fields of education, the social sciences, and management. It also makes innovations in the fields of engineering, computer science, marine and freshwater ecology, and environmental science. The University of Waikato, on the other hand, confers degrees in the humanities, engineering, computer science, management, Mori and Indigenous studies, social sciences, psychology, and education. However, in the middle of the 1950s, local and national leaders lobbied the government and the then-University of New Zealand (UNZ) to establish a new university in Hamilton. After years of pushing, then-Minister of Education Philip Skoglund agreed to establish a teachers’ college in the area since their campaign coincided with a teacher shortage. Then, in 1960, a young institution (originally a division of the University of Auckland) formed a combined campus at Ruakura with the newly established Hamilton Teachers’ College. The two universities relocated to their current location in 1964, and then-Gov.-General Sir Bernard Fergusson formally established the University of Waikato the following year. The School of Social Sciences and the School of Humanities are the current configurations of the University of Waikato. A school of science was established in 1969. The Waikato Management School, Computer Science and Computing Services, and School of Law were developed in the years that followed, in 1972, 1973, and 1990, respectively. The University of Waikato and the Hamilton Teacher’s College merged in the same year. The Centre for Mori Studies and Research was established in the School of Social Sciences in 1972 because it was always intended that Mori studies would be a significant aspect of the new institution. After being legally established as a distinct School of Mori and Pacific Development in 1996 and Te Pua Wnanga ki te Ao, Faculty of Mori and Indigenous Studies in 2016, respectively. The former Schools of Humanities and Social Sciences were merged to create the School of Arts and Social Sciences in 1999. The University was divided into four divisions, one school, and eight schools in 2018, including the Waikato Management School, the Division of Arts, Law, Psychology and Social Sciences, the Division of Education, the Division of Health, the Division of Engineering and Computer Sciences, and the Faculty of Mori and Indigenous Studies. More specifically, the University of Waikato has been present in Tauranga since the 1990s and added to its presence in the Bay of Plenty with the Adams Centre for High Performance in Mount Maunganui and the Coastal Marine Field Station in Sulphur Point on the Tauranga Harbour in 2019. The University of Waikato committed to opening a campus in Tauranga in 2019, which is located in the city’s central business district. In Sulphur Point, the institution will also debut a brand-new algae research and aquaculture center in November 2020. The University of Waikato is ranked 373rd out of the top 1,000 universities in the world in the most recent QS rankings for 2021. Additionally, the university received rankings in the range of 101-200 in the THE Impact Rankings and between 501 and 600 for the Times Higher (THE) World University Rankings.


Each recipient of a University of Waikato doctoral scholarship will receive up to $25,000 per year in addition to domestic tuition costs and the Student Services Levy.

University of Waikato doctoral scholarship requirements

  • Candidates from all countries are eligible for the University of Waikato Doctoral Scholarship.
  • Candidates who have been offered admission for a PhD degree at the University of Waikato are taken into consideration.
  • Candidates must be PhD students currently enrolled at the University of Waikato.
  • Students enrolled in a doctoral program in philosophy, music, or legal science, as well as in part 2 solely of a doctoral program in education or legal science, are eligible for the scholarship.
  • You must intend to undertake a full-time course of study in order to be eligible.

How to Apply for Doctoral Scholarships at the University of Waikato

Click here if you are qualified for the scholarship and are interested.

The scholarship’s application deadline is May 31, 2022.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular